Welcome to the Embassy of India, Caracas Venezuela
Home › Welcome to the Embassy of India, Caracas Venezuela

Venezuela (full name: Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela) is a tropical country situated on the northern coast of South America. It gained independence from Spain on 5 July, 1811.

The Constitution of 1999 establishes Venezuela as a Federal Presidential Republic with a multi-party political system. Venezuela consists of 23 Estados (States), Distrito Capital (Capital District including Caracas), and several Dependencias Federales (Federal Dependencies which consists of Venezuela's offshore islands). The 1999 Constitution also established a unicameral Parliament called Asemblea Nacional (National Assembly) consisting of 167 Diputados (Members of Parliament) for which election takes places every five years. The last such election took place in September 2010. The next election is scheduled to take place on 6 December 2015. The President, who is both Head of State and Head of Government, is elected for a term of six years. The President can be re-elected for any number of terms as per the amendment approved through Constitutional Referendum in 2009.

President Hugo Chavez, who belonged to the United Socialist Party of Venezuela (PSUV), remained in power from 1999 until his death in 2013, serving for three consecutive terms. Chavez won elections in 1998 (under 1961 Constitution), 2000 (under the new Constitution of 1999) and in 2006. On 7 October, 2012, President Chavez won the presidential election by a 10.8% margin. He could not be inaugurated as President due to his absence for treatment of cancer and subsequent passing away on 5 March 2013.